Branching out

Before S wakes up, I figured I’d show off a bit of what I’ve been doing to stay sane and creative while she naps. It’s finally getting warmer and staying warmer in Philly, so it’s time to put away the heavier knitting/crochet projects. The coming months are perfect for knitting socks since they’re more portable than a sweater. There’s also room for other crafts like cross-stitching. I’ve been LOVING The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery‘s patterns.

Last year, I signed up for the Woodland Sampler, and this year I got the Once Upon A Time Sampler as a birthday gift! It’s the gift that keeps on giving since each month, you get another chunk of the whole pattern revealed in an email. By the end of the year, you have a whole sampler with a cute theme.

tumblr_n3w4zeM0ed1qbuy8uo1_500

On the left is the color palette for the Woodland Sampler, and on the right is the beginning of a pattern of my own! I was obsessed with woodland animals when it came to shopping for baby items. With cross-stitching, I feel as if I have a bit more freedom than knitting to play with colors. Not that you can’t have a great Fair Isle or intarsia garment when knitting, but you don’t have to worry so much about shaping when you cross-stitch.

I’ve got a lot of floss and I think I’ll enjoy playing with colors, patterns, shapes, etc. and seeing what comes of it!

3 thoughts on “Branching out

Leave a Reply

