WIP Wednesday

It’s a good time to post some progress of the projects I’ve been working on. The red sweater that I was knitting, and thought was going to be finished by now, turned out to be way too wide in the back. I didn’t really feel like reworking the numbers, so what to do with yards and yards of yarn? Knit another sweater!

msnewsweater

No pattern involved, but I am using Ann Budd’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns and a bit of Seeded Rib to knit M a new cardigan. I knit him one last year and the fronts are too long for the back; I’m thinking that something went off with my gauge and I never caught it until I blocked the pieces. Sweater fail. This will be (literally) a better fit for him and the timing is just right for me to participate in NaKniSweMo (National Knit a Sweater Month) 2013.

It’s similar to NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), but while that requires you to write 50,000-word novel, NaKniSweMo calls for you to knit a 50,000-stitch sweater. Most full-sized sweaters fit the requirement, and M is over 6′, so I have no doubt this sweater will work.

I’ve also been working on my Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Woodland Sampler 2013. Cross stitch provides a much needed break from knitting sometimes.

woodlandjanjuly

The ladies at The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery release a new sampler block at the beginning of the month for that specific month. I bought the sampler well after the year started, so I was already behind by more than a few months. I’ve tried to get caught up/keep up, but as you can see, I’ve got a ways to go before I even get to this month’s section. I do most of the stitching on my days off, and I guess it’s a good thing I’m behind. It means I have something to keep my hands busy while I wait for the next sampler block to be emailed to me.

The next few blocks are all pretty big ones, so I just take it a chunk at a time and I’m excited for the piece I’ll have when I finish. The ladies at The Frosted Pumpkin have other designs I’m eager to stitch, but I’d like to finish one thing at a time. Check out their page and see if there’s one that you like!

P.S.: If you use Bloglovin’, you can follow my posts there, too!

Leave a Reply

