I WAS making a baby quilt

I cut all of the squares and laid them out on the futon.

For some reason, 54″x60″ didn’t translate into “throw-sized” big until I put all of the squares and arranged them as I wanted. Not that I didn’t know how big it would be. I knew. The pattern said 54″x60″. I can read. What happened is that it never clicked in my brain. I read the pattern card and kept thinking, “baby quilt”. Why? I have no idea. 54″x60″ is 4.5ft x 5ft. I know Matt is a big guy, but the Jolly Green Giant he is not (although he has been compared to the Brawny man, especially when his beard is fully grown).

So this is a throw. That’s cool. I have a feeling we’re going to have a rough winter this time around, so it’ll be a welcome addition to the blanket arsenal. The baby will have it for quite some time (college years anyone?) and I’ll care for it to make sure it lasts because it’s going to be a while before I make another quilt this size or larger. And to think, one of my goals for this year was to make a king-sized quilt. Pfft. Whatever, man.

Leave a Reply

